weekend recap.

hay hay haaay.
i hope everyone had a fun-filled weekend.

i realize that its tuesday and i’m late.
i’ve been hella sick for a couple days, and have eaten mostly jellybeans, bread and neocitran as “fuel”.
but i’m getting a little more lively, so i thought i would get out of the jayme’s-booty-shaped couch indent and blog. 😀

A little bit about my weekend:

i went for an amazing run saturday morning, possibly my favourite to date. i was so happy! 😀

a couple things i did that may have made it more awesome than my latest crap runs:

. fueled up, watered up, and then waited a full 45 minutes for my food to settle. no cramping.

. made myself breath through my mouth the entire time to prevent cramping.

. didn’t worry at all about my speed. i just went at a pace that felt natural and sustainable.

. did loads of calf raises to get my ankles ready for some stress. i also stopped after a 5 minute warm-up walk, and stretched my tendons out.

i went on to jog my entire route, with no problems or walking breaks, and then sprint like Usain Bolt for the last 30-50 seconds.

i really wish i could see my face when i’m sprinting.
i imagine it as a mix of extreme happiness, freedom, and a little suffering.

on second thought, i really don’t want to see that.

moving on.

here’s some photos to recap my weekend:

Jordan and i teamed up to make more bread, and created fabulous cinnamon swirl bread.
we’re awesome!

i am so happy i’m getting over my fear of baking with yeast.
bread baking is so satisfying!

next up was mass birthday celebrations at my parents’ house. when we arrived, we watched football, ate lots of fruit and chips, and explored my parent’s unnecessarily huge yard.

my dad has a really cool little gym in one of the old shops on their property! he set up gymnastic rings, tons of weights and kettlebells, and even a gymnastic-height “high bar” for chin-ups and leg lifts.
i wish we lived closer, i would just work out with papa john. i’m sure he would have whipped into shape in no time.
(the man is almost 50 years old and deadlifts 400 lbs!)

we also went and provoked the sheep a bit.

wooo, country livin’.

as far as birthday gifts go, i am now the proud owner of 2 new all-season tires for my baby.
which is my beautiful car, in case you’re new to the blog.

oh, and i’m also the proud owner of a Garmin Forerunner 305!
😀

jordan must have been listening to my constant whining about not knowing how far or how fast i was running.

he’s the best! i wasn’t expecting it at all, since he also gave me money towards our mexico trip in january.
love you, my handsome man.
my handsome rich man.

i gave away all my baking without trying to steal it back. not once!

my mama and BJ (my brother-in-law) both sent me texts when i got home telling me how delicious it was.
i’m glad my gingersnaps and blondies went to good tastebuds. 🙂

well, i don’t have much more to ramble about.
i think i’ll be back to 100% after another solid night of neocitran-induced sleep.

are you a city girl or a country bumpkin? i was raised in the middle of nowhere, with trees, horses and 15 acres, then moved to the rural outer limits of the city when i was 10 years old, and officially moved into the city at.. 16? years old. so i’ve had both, but i definitely consider myself a country girl.

toodles! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to weekend recap.

  1. debbie says:

    Hope you feel better soon!

    That cinnamon-swirl bread looks totally amazing. I am immediately going on a hunt for a recipe!

    I also grew up in the middle of nowhere and then moved to Edmonton in 2000, just after I turned 18. I’ve been stuck here ever since… I’d ideally like to find middle-ground, a city that still has everything I need but that is much, much smaller than Edm.

    By the way, I made the “Banana Bread Oat Bites” you suggested a little while ago – really, really good! I didn’t add any extras for my first batch, but I think I’ll throw in some nuts and choco chips next time. Thanks!

    • jaymealreadyexists says:

      thanks, i’m almost back in tiptop shape. 🙂

      i fully support cinnamon bread baking. and cinnamon bread addictions.
      we just took a regular bread recipe, and spread melted butter, cinnamon and brown sugar overtop (like you would with a cinnamon bun) and rolled it up to bake in a loaf pan.

Leave a Reply

